Daily Word Art Challenge - 2021

We have set up this brilliant community Daily Word Art challenge to keep everyone going through the lockdown.  Doing anything creative is very therapeutic and beneficial to your mental well-being.

We have advertised this project through social media and emailed our Elderberries/volunteer/members to take part in this.

sketching pencils.jpg

    Instructions

watercolor-paint-set.jpg

The idea is to draw the chosen daily word using a variety of techniques and then for participants to send in their artwork to marketing@caerphillyminerscentre.org.uk

Here are the words we'll be asking participants to draw over the next few weeks.  Please feel free to try out different techniques and use watercolour or acrylic paints.  You might need to google some of the techniques suggested below to give you an idea of how to do it.

pencils.jpg

18th January - 7th February

         Words to Draw

       Techniques to Use

An unusual fruit or vegetable 

Fungi/mushrooms

Doorway

Piece of jewellery

Succulent

Pestle and mortar

Eye

Flower

Kitchen utensils

Farming equipment

Wheel

Paintbrushes

Gardening equipment

Birds

Fish/ fishing equipment

Casino

Bow and arrow

Hands

Building

Famous sign

Food tins

  • Pencil sketch

  • Continuous line

  • Ball point pen

  • Pointillism- dots

  • Collage/decoupage

  • Mosaic

  • Complementary colours - red/green, blue/orange, purple/yellow

  • Monochrome- using one colour, changing shade and tone by adding black, brown or white

  • Line drawing

  • Ageing technique/ distressing the paper

  • Mark making - cross hatching

  • Zentangle- patterns

  • Finger painting

  • Impasto- textured

  • Shading

  • Blow painting

  • Monoprint/transcription

  • Contour drawing - repeating image

18-01-2021   19-01-2021  20-01-2021 21-01-2021 22-01-2021 23-01-2021

24-01-2021

25-01-2021

26-01-2021

27-01-2021

28-01-2021

29-01-2021

30-01-2021

31 -01-2021

01-02-2021

02-02-2021

03-02-2021

04-02-2021

05-02-2021

06-02-2021

07-02-2021

Day 1

Day 2

Day 3

Day 4

Day 5

Day 6

Day 7

Day 8

Day 9

Day 10

Day 11

Day 12

Day 13

Day 14

Day 15

Day 16

Day 17

Day 18

Day 19

Day 20

Day 21

  Mon 18th January

     An unusual fruit or vegetable

Lawrence

Katherine

Karen

     Tues 19th January

       Fungi/mushrooms

Katherine

Suzanne

Karen

     Wed 20th January

 Doorway

Katherine

Karen

 Thurs 21st January

      Piece of jewellery

Katherine

Suzanne

Karen

        Fri 22nd January

                     Succulent

Suzanne

Karen

        Sat 23rd January

     Pestle and mortar

Suzanne

Karen

  Sun 24th January

   Eye

Karen

Katherine

     Mon 25th January

   Flower

Gareth

Katherine

Lawrence

Susan

Suzanne

Karen

Irene

Jordan

         Tues 26th January

    Kitchen utensils

Lawrence

Sue

Suzanne

Karen

      Wed 27th January

 Farming equipment

Sue

       Thur 28th January

            Wheel

Sue

Suzanne

         Fri 29th January

      Paintbrushes

Katherine

Sue

Karen

         Sat 30th January

      Gardening equipment

Katherine

Karen

         Sun 31st January

                     Birds

Katherine

Sue

Suzanne

Karen

         Mon 1st February

            Tue 2nd February

       Wed 3rd February

   Fish/ fishing equipment

 Casino

          Bow and arrow

Karen

Suzanne

Sue

          Thur 4th February

                   Hands

Lawrence

Katherine

Sue

Karen

Gareth

            Fri 5th February

                 Buildings

Karen

Sue

           Sat 6th February

              Famous sign

Karen

Katherine

           Sun 7th February

                  Food Tins

Lawrence

Lawrence

Katherine

Sue

Karen